A Gift, an Accident and the Fair

This is old news for me, but it will likely be new news to you.

In the fall I took a trip to Greenwood, BC to visit my father and also to go to the annual fall fair in Rock Creek with my sister. She drove.

Now, I hadn’t seen my father in some time, well… that’s not true. I’ve seen him when he has headed into Vancouver for his fairly regular dental appointments. Yes, his dentist is a 482km drive from where he lives.

My father's 482km drive to see his dentist

The point being, I hadn’t visited his home in over a year.

To make up for this I thought it would be nice to give him a gift. One made by hand, something to show him that I am willing to put in an effort. This is important to me given that I haven’t put in much of an effort to visit over the years. A few days before hitting the road with my sister I had decided to give stone carving a go. At the time it had nothing to do with making a gift for him and I hadn’t put any thought into it.

What I ended up making was a small figure of an elephant. I got the idea from one made of wood that I have been keeping on the dashboard of my car. When I first thought of giving him a gift I didn’t have a very hard time figuring out that this was the gift for him and I would need to put in some time to get it done before leaving.

Having no instruction or knowledge about what to do, I set out to make this elephant and in the end it actually turned out half decent. I was surprised.

My first carving: I think this is the perfect gift for him. The elephant is a symbol of strength, slowly but powerfully using it's legs to move forward and victoriously or perhaps joyfully raising it's trunk. I thought this would be great for my father as he has MS and walking is extremely trying, yet he pushes on and keeps his spirits up all the while.

He loved it. Shortly afterward I sat at him kitchen table to work on a small gnome (which, by the way, is still unfinished). While using a chisel to make the basic shape I took note of how distracting it was that my sister and father kept talking without taking any breaks. I can’t blame them though, we don’t live close and as such it is understandable to have a lot that you would like to share. At one point I was brought into this conversation… while I was still carving. This is when I learnt an important lesson. Don’t get distracted whilst using an extremely sharp object. I cut my hand as I turned in response. I dropped the chisel, pulled off my mask for filtering the dust of the stone and saw, to my surprise, that my finger nail and the top half of my left middle finger were hanging, the nail facing the same direction as my palm. I quickly flipped it back atop the bottom half of my finger and went to stop the bleeding.

It took 45 minutes to drive to the hospital in Grand Forks. The bleeding stopped around 20 minutes after this whole thing started, most of it after the first 10. The ride was the worst part though. In order to stop the bleeding I put pressure on the wound, holding the top half of my fingertip to the bottom half. Each bump in the road caused the pressure to change, and pain to rush throughout my hand and arm. The fingertip has a lot of nerve endings and when part of it is severed, down to the bone, it hurts!

I needed only 3 stitches to hold it together. The chisel entered from what would be the lower left of the image, it exited on the upper right and gouged half-way to the other side.

Fully zoomed, my finger looks disgusting / the photo looks great!

Sewn back together I returned to Greenwood. At this point it had been hours and I was getting hungry so I decided, that despite the disfigured hand I would make some bread to go with dinner.

YUM!

========

========

The next day my sister and I went to the fair that I mentioned earlier on. So, without further ado, the fair!

Look at all those squashes. They're HUGE!

Here they had Mohair knitted goods, from animal, to spinning, to knitting, to final products you can buy.

I was surprised to find that almost every prize in every category for cooking/baking/preserving went to a family friend.

~ by TerminalSix on 06/01/2011.

3 Responses to “A Gift, an Accident and the Fair”

  1. greenwood is awesome!

  2. Hi, I saw your comments on the article about Anonymous warning NATO and I just wanted to say that I really like what you had to say. I just today came across the article. Had never heard about Anonymous and what they’re working towards but from what little I have read, I can definitely say that I think it’s incredible. I’m just still not completely sure how I’d go about getting involved. I’d really like to discuss this more. If you’d be interested just shoot me an email. pm1036@yahoo.com.
    If not that’s totally cool, too.
    Best wishes for your cut finger.

  3. Hey, that fabric stand is by Joybilee Farm, this cool small fibre farm near Grand Forks. They’re doing something quite revolutionary there, hybridizing natural indigo so that it thrives in our climate, and also trying to start up a hemp fabric industry in Canada. This could mean a significant amount of denim produced naturally in Canada. Totally cool little organization. They also rear fibre-producing animals (angoras, goats, others).

Leave a Reply

 
